Friday, March 31, 2017

IFCSS Announcement on the Passing away of Mr. YuZhijian

The Independent Federation of Chinese Students and Scholars in USA (IFCSS)  is saddened by the news of Mr. Yu ZHijian's passing away and would extend our condolence to his families.

Mr.  Yu Zhijian was among the three gentlemen from Hunan province of China who took heroic action to throw ink bottle to the portrait of Mao Zedong on the wall of Tiananmen Square in Beijing at the early stage of the June 4 democratic movement in May of 1989.  They expressed their anger to the despot in an open and straight forward manner and demonstrated unusual courage at the time.  They certainly took a lead of our time.

All three of them were penalized severely afterwards by the communist regime in China and their lives suffered right after that.  The Independent Federation of Chinese Students and Scholars appreciates their contribution to the democratic movement of China and awarded all three of them the 2006 IFCSS Freedom Spirit Award to commend them for their unusual courage and sacrifice for the democratic cause of China. ( )

Mr. Yu Zhijian's example, together with other two gentlemen, has enlightened a generation of Chinese people in revealing the dark side of the communist regime in China.  His passing away reminds us that we the living will have to pass on his courage so that his sacrifice is not in vain.


Saturday, March 18, 2017


2017年3月12日,全美学自联理事会召开会议,全体7名理事参加。会议做出决议并确认,全美中国学生学者自治联合会将于2017年6月3日(星期六)在美国首都华盛顿中共驻美大使馆前连续第28年主办"六四"纪念会,以悼念在1989年民主运动中牺牲的人们。同时,全美学自联还将在纪念会上颁布2017年度全美学自联"自由精神奖"(Spirit of Freedom Award),宣布获奖人并致颁奖辞。学自联特此公告并向社会各界征集候选人的提名。
全美学自联邀请社会各界人士参加这场"六四"纪念会,以表达我们的哀思,并希望中国早日实现人权和民主。(时间为2017年6月3日晚间19点半至21点半,中共驻美大使馆地址为: 3505 International Pl NW, Washington, DC 20008-3025。大使馆边上Van Ness St NW 路边有周末免费停车处,其北付费停车场。) 全美学自联欢迎有志之士参加,及支持中国民主自由的组织协办这次活动。
有关全美学自联"自由精神奖"详情及具体提名细节,请致电1(302) 312-6840查询。

欢迎社会各界积极参与提名。提名介绍请Email至:ifcss64@AOL.com或;或寄往:IFCSS, P.O. Box 15449, Washington, DC 20003。


电话:(302) 312-6840 陆文禾博士
电子邮件:ifcss64@AOL.com及 luwenhe99@gmail.com陆文禾博士
地址:IFCSS c/o Ciping HUANG, P.O. Box 15449, Washington, DC 20003, USA


The IFCSS Will Host the Commemoration of the June 4 Massacre in Front of the Chinese Embassy in Washington DC on June 3, 2017 and Calls for the 2017 Nomination of the "Spirit of Freedom Award"
On March 12, 2017, the Independent Federation of Chinese Students and Scholars (IFCSS) council held a meeting with participation by all its 7 council members.  At the meeting it was resolved and confirmed to hold the annual commemoration of the June 4 Massacre in front of the Chinese Embassy in Washington DC, USA (address: 3505 International Pl NW, Washington, DC 20008-3025, USA) on Saturday, June 3, 2017.  This gathering will be the 28th consecutive yearly commemoration lead by the IFCSS in memory of the heroes and victims of the June 4 Massacre in the 1989 pro-democracy movement.  During the same event, the IFCSS shall reveal its 2017 annual "Spirit of Freedom Award" winner and give its award dedication.  Hereby, the IFCSS is calling for nominations for this year's candidates from the whole society.
The IFCSS invites everyone in the community to participate in our commemoration that will be held in the park in front of the Chinese embassy in Washington DC on the evening of June 3, 2017 from 7:30pm to 9:30pm.  We will express our grievance for the victims of the June 4 Massacre in 1989 and strive for the early realization of human rights and democracy in China. (The address of the Chinese Embassy in Washington DC is: 3505 International Pl NW, Washington, DC 20008, USA.  There is meter parking on the roadside of Van Ness by the embassy that is free during the weekend.  There is also a parking garage across Van Ness on the north side of the road.)  The IFCSS welcomes the public to participate and organizations that support democracy and freedom in China to co-sponsor our event.
The "Spirit of Freedom Award" was established by an IFCSS Council resolution in 2001.  It aims to recognize and celebrate Chinese citizens who are not afraid of authoritarian terror and contemptuous of totalitarian violence, who have the spirit to call for freedom with conscience, sacrificing even their lives.  The "Spirit of Freedom Award" has always been open to accept nominations from the whole community.  The nominees and winners should be residing in China.
Since the "Spirit of Freedom Award" was awarded for the first time in 2001 to Mr. Song Zhongqiu, who was at the end of his life with terminal cancer yet raised his voice and publicly announced quitting the Communist Party, the IFCSS has been announcing the awardees during its June 4 commemoration every year.  Other awardees include:

In 2006 to the 3 Gentlemen who challenged Mao Zedong without precedent, which was praised as "a magnificent feat of the 1989 pro-democracy movement";

In 2010 to Dr. Wang Bingzhang who as a pioneer had promoted the democracy movement from overseas for many years;

In 2011 to the famous artist Ai Weiwei who speaks for "the vulnerable groups with fear";

In 2012 to Mr. Li Wangyang, who was the chairman of the Shaoyang Independent Workers' Union of Hunan Province, and thus received a 13-year prison sentence and long time persecution of the Communist regime until his mysterious death;

    And last year in 2016, it was awarded to the outspoken writers and activists Mr. Guo Feixiong and Mr. Zhang Haitao, both of whom are still serving long sentences in the Communist jails in China.
Regarding the nomination and details of the IFCSS "Spirit of Freedom Award", please call Dr. Lu at 1(302) 312-6840.  The IFCSS welcomes the community to actively participate in the nomination.  Nominations may be e-mailed to: and; or snail mailed to: Ciping Huang c/o IFCSS, PO Box 15449, Washington, DC 20003, USA.  The deadline for nominations is May 12, 2017.

IFCSS -- the Independent Federation of Chinese Students and Scholars, USA

Contact IFCSS:
Phone: (302) 312-6840 Dr. Wenhe LU and
Mailing address:IFCSS c/o Ciping HUANG, P.O. Box 15449, Washington, DC 20003, USA